The 2013 Carpenter Cup Classic baseball tournament will begin its 28th year on Monday, June 17 at Ashburn Field in FDR Park in Philadelphia, PA. Earlier this week, the rosters for the Delaware South team were announced featuring several local high school baseball standouts.

The Carpenter Cup Classic is a 16-team tournament featuring more than 400 high school students from the tri-state area. Named after former owners of the Philadelphia Phillies, Bob and Delaware native Ruly Carpenter has become one of the most recognizable baseball tournament in the area over it’s nearly 3 decades of existence.

The Sussex Tech Ravens, who finished 10-8 this season and advanced to the quarterfinals of the DIAA State tournament this season boast 3 members of the Delaware South squad.

Senior and Second-Team All-State Catcher Ryan Muchmore, along with juniors Pitcher Lane DeLeon and Third Baseman Anthony Guinta will represent the Ravens.

Senior Pitcher and Outfielder Robbie Vanaman will represent the Golden Knights of Sussex Central. Vanaman helped lead the Golden Knights to a 12-6 record this season and a berth in the DIAA State Tournament. Central fell to Caravel 5-4 in the quarterfinals, the Bucs went onto the DIAA State Championship game.

Sussex Tech Manager G.L. Jefferson will be an assistant with the Delaware South team along with Ravens assistant coach Ethan Long.

Also joining Delaware South as an assistant is Sussex Central Manager Todd Brock.

While the Carpenter Cup Classic is full of the best high school talent throughout Pennsylvania, New Jersey and Delaware, the Delaware South team will not be without talent of its own, boasting 10 All-State players.

Delaware South will open up play on Monday, June 17 against Lehigh Valley at Ashburn Field in FDR Park, Philadelphia – first pitch scheduled for 12:30 p.m.

If Delaware South is victorious against Lehigh Valley on Monday, they’ll move on to the quarterfinals which will be held on Friday, June 21 at 10:30 a.m.

The semifinals are scheduled for Monday, June 24 with the Finals to be held at Citizens Bank Park on Tuesday, June 25 at 10:00 a.m.