Sussex County Commissioner Trinidad Navarro in Jan. 19 officially opened the new Delaware Department of Insurance office, 28 The Circle, Georgetown.

“The Department of Insurance has offices in Kent and New Castle County. Sussex County Residents had to travel an hour or more to have their insurance issues addressed. Now, within approximately 30 minutes or less they can be helped in our Georgetown office” said Navarro.

House Bill 77 addressed the issue of citizen accessibility to be able to speak with department personnel locally by opening a Department of Insurance office in Sussex County.

“Almost two-thirds of walk-in visitors to our Kent County office are from Sussex County, and the majority of them are seniors. I’m excited that we are now able to help them closer to their home,” said Navarro.

Reps. Peter Schwartzkopf, Bryon Short and Ruth Briggs King; and Sens. Brian Bushweller and Brian Pettyjohn sponsored HB 77.

The Sussex County office of the Department of Insurance will be open 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Mondays through Fridays.

For more, call 259-7554.