Superintendent of the Delaware State Police Col. Nathaniel McQueen Jr. recently announced the winners of the 2016 Trooper of the Year and Civilian of the Year awards.

Each year the Delaware State Police Executive Staff selects one trooper for the Trooper of the Year Award. To be nominated, a trooper must exceed performance standards and be recognized by his or her peers as one who consistently displays integrity and work ethic.

The Executive Staff selected Trooper First Class Christopher Garcia from Troop 4 as the 2016 Trooper of the Year for his efforts and contributions to the Division and the citizens of Delaware. Garcia has been a member of the Delaware State Police since February 2014.

Each year the Delaware State Police Executive Staff selects one civilian employee for the Civilian of the Year Award. Civilian employees who are nominated for this award meet the following criteria:

— Exceptional service as identified by the employee’s performance evaluations

— A consistent record of such service through their years of employment

— Recognition by their peers for outstanding character and integrity.

This year, nine civilian Delaware State Police employees were nominated. The Executive Staff of the Delaware State Police selected M. Lisa Seymour from the State Bureau of Identification as the 2016 Civilian of the Year. Seymour began her career 23 years ago within the Fingerprint Section of Delaware State Police’s State Bureau of Identification as a latent print examiner. She dedicated her career path to the Delaware State Police and worked her way up the ranks and now serves as the automated fingerprint systems biometric administrator at SBI while supervising nine subordinates.

Delaware State Police also awarded 41 troopers with citations for exceptional performance, life saving or acts of valor. Troopers receiving the exceptional performance citation were Zachery Bonniwell, Matthew McHenry, Benjamin Nefosky, Jennifer Buzzuro, Brock Adkins, Christopher Garcia, David Hanich, William Harris , Christian Hevelow, John Penrod, Scott Weaver, Chase Lawson, Daniel McColgan, Earle Marchione, James J.J. Smith, Adam Jewell, Andrew Jones and Joshua Scaramazza.

Troopers receiving the life saving citation were Michael Branch, Mark Thomas, Ed Schiavi, Elvin Thompson, Mike McCann, Nicholas Ciglinsky, Brock Adkins, Patrick Schlimer, Christopher Garcia, Dustin Yencer, Natalie George, Matthew Kerrigan, Jeremiah Lloyd, Mark Ryde, Michael Spudis, Wyatt Bullock, Jason Sydnor, Brian McDerby and Eric Saccomanno.

Troopers receiving the acts of valor citation were Randel Abrenica, Sean Rodrigues, Edwin Justiniano, Scott Mauchin and Pierre Lawler.