Sixteen area children from eight schools were selected for awards for producing art work to be included in the 2017-18 PSEG Nuclear Emergency Plan Information Brochure for Delaware and New Jersey.

The honorees were chosen from among various elementary school students who submitted art work. Participating schools are in the Emergency Planning Zone, which is the area within a 10-mile radius of the Salem/Hope Creek Generating Stations in New Jersey. The brochure will be mailed to residents of the EPZ. Artwork will be posted to the Delaware Emergency Management Agency’s website in the near future.

Winners were Addison Witham and Ethan Ziegler, of Brick Mill Elementary School; Layla Dukes and Tanushri Gaunkula, of Cedar Lane Elementary School; Lia Kehagias and Evan Lightfoot, of Kathleen H. Wilbur Elementary School; Emma Smith and Oluwaromi Olowo, of Old State Elementary School; Kendall Gustafson and Aubrey Schaeffer, of St. Anne's Episcopal School; Miles Mowbray and Bella Barrentine, of Silver Lake Elementary School; Victoria Frasier and Jalikatu Barrie, of Southern Elementary School; and Isabella Long and James Patrick, of Townsend Elementary School

Delaware Department of Safety and Homeland Security Secretary Robert Coupe was joined by DEMA Director A.J. Schall, and David Burgin, corporate manager, Emergency Preparedness at PSEG, in honoring the students. They were presented with gifts and certificates during a ceremony May 22 at the Delaware National Guard Smyrna Readiness Center.