The Margaret H. Rollins School of Nursing at Beebe Healthcare recently celebrated the class of 2017 graduation with 17 graduates at Epworth United Methodist Church in Rehoboth Beach.

Bonnie Cunningham, director of wound healing and hyperbaric oxygen therapy/diabetes

management at Beebe Healthcare, was the commencement speaker. Cunningham has held this position at Beebe Healthcare for nearly 20 years. She is a licensed and certified advanced practice nurse and a wound, ostomy continence nurse. Cunningham dedicates her time with the students as a guest speaker throughout the curriculum, as well as during clinical rotations. Elisha Brown, president of the class of 2018, presented congratulations to the graduates. Ryan Gray, president of the class of 2017, shared class reflections and well-wishes. A video of favorite memories from the class was presented by Anna Merrick.

The Honorable William S. Lee, chairman of Beebe Medical Center’s board of directors, presented the Board of Directors Award for the highest academic achievement to Bethany Campbell. The Beebe Healthcare Medical Staff sponsored the Salutatorian Award for the second-highest academic achievement, which was presented by R. Alberto Rosa to Hannah Bristow. The Alumni Award, given for Medical-Surgical Clinical Excellence in District Nursing, was presented to Emily Macklin. The Patient Care Leadership Award, presented by Beebe Healthcare’s Chief Nursing Officer Steve Rhone, went to Bethany Campbell.

The Beebe Auxiliary presented their award honoring the graduates who excelled academically, clinically and in community involvement to two graduates this year: Megan Pusey and Hannah Bristow. Anna Merrick received the Cordrey-Cottingham Award, in honor of Eleanor Cordrey and in memory of her sister Virginia Cottingham to the graduate demonstrating commitment, professionalism in nursing and sincerity in her practice. Alissa Porter received the Dr. David Howard Memorial Award. The Bayside Health Association Award honoring the memory and characteristics of Alison Trout was presented to Lydia Cole. Jeremy Calloway and Scott Bell were honored with the Faculty Award recognizing the attributes of diploma education.

Lindsey Garcia was the recipient of the Delaware Hospice award honoring an exemplary graduate exhibiting a compassionate philosophy in all aspects of care. Katie Dukes was honored for her perfect attendance. A new award was presented this year by the Beebe Medical Foundation in partnership with Margaret H. Rollins. The Margaret H. Rollins Student Philanthropy Award went to the graduate who demonstrated exemplary performance in philanthropic activities which supported both Beebe Healthcare and the community. This award was given to Katie Dukes for her leadership in fundraisers and community activities that helped those less fortunate. The award was presented by Judy Aliquo, president and CEO of the Beebe Medical Foundation, and Margaret H. Rollins.

Members of the class of 2017 are Scott Bell, Hannah Bristow, Jeremy Calloway, Bethany Campbell, Lydia Cole, Katie Dukes, Lindsey Garcia, Ryan Gray, Shelby Gray, Melissa LaRue, Emily Macklin, Anna Merrick, Christopher Miller, Hugo Parker, Alissa Porter, Megan Pusey and Kara Voss.

A reception followed the graduation in the Epworth United Methodist Church Fellowship Hall.