Cape, Delmar sweep Delaware field hockey Player of the Year awards

Brad Myers
Delaware News Journal

There have been a lot of changes in 2020, but there was no change at the top in Delaware high school field hockey.

Cape Henlopen won its fourth straight DIAA Division I title, and Delmar swept to a fifth consecutive Division II title.

So it was no surprise when the two schools swept the Player of the Year honors and had several players listed when the Delaware Field Hockey Coaches Association’s All-State teams were announced.

Cape Henlopen's Reagan Ciabattoni (5) is the Division I field hockey Player of the Year.

Cape junior Reagan Ciabattoni is the Division I Player of the Year, while Delmar sophomore Maci Bradford was named the top player in Division II.

The Vikings went 13-1, their only loss coming to Delmar. Ciabattoni scored a third-quarter goal as Cape wrapped up the D-I crown with a 3-0 win over Polytech in the championship game on Dec. 12.

STILL ON TOP:Left is right as Cape Henlopen wins fourth straight Division I field hockey crown

“It’s a feeling that I’ve experienced many times. But each time, it’s a once-in-a-lifetime feeling,” she said after the victory. “It’s just crazy. We’ve worked so hard this season that it’s just amazing.”

Cape teammates Noelle Sabbagh, Emily Monigle and Julie Heffernan joined Ciabattoni on the Division I first team. Dover’s Superia Clark and Chelsea Johnson, Milford’s Summer Davis, Padua’s Anna Getty, Polytech’s Mairead McKibbin and Megan Popp, and Smyrna’s Madi Simpson and Lilly Short also made the top squad.

Delmar's Maci Bradford is the Division II field hockey Player of the Year.

Bradford scored the first and last goals as Delmar capped a 15-0 season with a 4-1 win over Caravel in the D-II championship game.

“It’s so amazing to be able to be here,” she said. “It’s just crazy and unbelievable that we have this opportunity, and we come out here and get it done.”

The Wildcats’ Josie Hollamon, Jordyn Hollamon, Morgan Bradford and Kelly Davis joined Maci Bradford on the Division II first team.

THAT'S FIVE:Delmar's drive for five complete in Division II field hockey

Other D-II first-teamers were Archmere’s Bella Dell’Oso and Lindsey Renshaw, Brandywine’s Jillian Vandenbraak, Caravel’s Alice Pifferi and Maddie Dalton, Wilmington Friends’ Rosa Cochran, Newark Charter’s Mary Catherine Anson, Sussex Academy’s Addy Leonhartt, Tatnall’s Rachael Whitehead, Tower Hill’s Maggie Bailer, Ursuline’s Julianna Copeman and Wilmington Christian’s Gabby Armesto.

Caravel’s Sarah Keever was named the state’s Coach of the Year. After a 9-7 season in 2019, the Buccaneers improved to 12-3 and reached the Division II final this season. Their only losses were to Cape and Delmar.

Kevin Phillips contributed to this report.

Contact Brad Myers at Follow on Twitter: @BradMyersTNJ

DFHCA All-State field hockey teams

Division I


Reagan Ciabattoni, jr., Cape Henlopen, Player of the Year

Noelle Sabbagh, jr., Cape Henlopen

Emily Monigle, sr., Cape Henlopen

Julie Heffernan, sr., Cape Henlopen

Superia Clark, jr., Dover

Chelsea Johnson, sr., Dover

Summer Davis, sr., Milford

Anna Getty, sr., Padua

Mairead McKibbin, sr., Polytech

Megan Popp, jr., Polytech

Madi Simpson, jr., Smyrna

Lilly Short, jr., Sussex Tech


Alani Lawrence, sr., Appoquinimink; Casey Best, sr., Concord; Hailey Miller, sr., Concord; Julia Osborn, sr., Middletown; Kaitlyn Murphy, sr., Middletown; Julia Levase, sr., Mount Pleasant; Abby Brainard, sr., Padua; Marie Brainard, so., Charter of Wilmington

Division II


Bella Dell’Oso, so., Archmere

Lindsey Renshaw, so., Archmere

Jillian Vandenbraak, so., Brandywine

Alice Pifferi, jr., Caravel

Maddie Dalton, sr., Caravel

Josie Hollamon, so., Delmar

Maci Bradford, so., Delmar, Player of the Year

Jordyn Hollamon, 8th, Delmar

Morgan Bradford, sr., Delmar

Kelly Davis, jr., Delmar

Rosa Cochran, sr., Wilmington Friends

Mary Catherine Anson, jr., Newark Charter

Addy Leonhartt, sr., Sussex Academy

Rachael Whitehead, so., Tatnall

Maggie Bailer, sr., Tower Hill

Julianna Copeman, sr., Ursuline

Gabby Armesto, sr., Wilmington Christian


Becca Olsen, so., Archmere; Hannah McLamb, jr., Caravel; Gigi DeGregory, sr., Caravel; Logan Dean, sr., Delmar; Ella Shockley, jr., Delmar; Adriana Palladinetti, jr., DMA; Brenna Ziegler, jr., Newark Charter; Carlie McKenry, sr., Tatnall; Annie Malatesta, sr., Tower Hill; Caitlin Smith, so., Tower Hill

Coach of the Year – Sarah Keever, Caravel